File Menu

New Playlist





Enter a name for the new playlist,
creates a new playlist to hold songs, the order of songs can be changed. The playlist is added to the list of playlists/sources. If a folder is selected in the sources, the playlist is added to that folder.



New Playlist From Selection

Same as 'New Playlist' but currently selected songs of the currently selected (activated) list are added to the playlist.

New Playlist from Main Playlist

Creates a new playlist, with all songs on the main playlist (automation playlist, usually on the right side) is added to it.

New Folder

Enter a name for the folder,
then creates a new folder to contain playlists and other folders.

Delete Playlist

Deletes currently selected playlist or folder.

New List Tab



Adds a new library tab above the library song list. These tabs are for keeping multiple views of library available, such as searching for 'Electronic' and then searching for 'Ambient', you can go back to 'Electronic' by clicking the tab instead of having to type 'Electronic' and scrolling to the same position. You can also click (+) button to add a new library tab.

Remove List Tab

Removes selected list tab.

Remove Other List Tabs

Removes list tabs other than the selected.

-

Close

For closing some of the windows.

-

Add to Library...

Add audio files to the Disco XT library (import)... Opens a window.

On the left side are 'Locations', optional: you can drag frequently used folders to this list for quick access.



At middle, a folder list and above it < button to go to the enclosing folder and popup menu to go to enclosing folders and to disks: "Computer" lists all available disks.





You can either select one or more items in the middle list and click 'Add' to start import, or if you need to add items from different folders you can drag the folders/files first to the 'Add' List' on the right side and then click 'Add' to start import.



Optional:
For files that do not have meta data / tags (title,artist etc...) (such as most WAVE files) you can make the import faster by selecting 'Skip tags'.

Record Mic/Line-in to New File...



For recording audio input and saving the recorded audio input to a file.
Multiple recordings can be made in the opened recording window.

A real-time input to output (without saving to a file first) is also available from the Devices menu : 'Playback Ctrl' device. (Microphone button).

If audio input preferences are not configured, click 'Prefs'.

When audio input is configured,
in the recording window,
click 'Record' to start recording audio input and a timer starts increasing and loudness is shown in the waveform during recording.
click 'Save' to save the recording or 'Cancel' to cancel without saving.
The recorded audio can be listened after recording is stopped. 'FS' sets the playback to file start.

The audio may be recorded from the main output instead of directly from the input device, and then any audio effects added to Mic or Main is saved to the audio file, an audio file may also be set to play in the decks in the background with the microphone input. 'Talkover' adjusts amount of audio level other than the input. With this 'From Main' option there can be some small delay with the microphone input and audio output.

The recorded audio files are normalized automatically (to maximum loudness sample value).

A recorded file may be renamed during/after recording.

The folder where the files are saved is by default 'Music folder: Disco XT'. This can be changed with the 'Folder...' button.

Recording may be started/stopped(saved) with Command 'R' and prelistened with 'P' and cued (start time) with 'C'.

Detect BPM for Selected

Analyzes selected audio files for BPM (beats per minute) values. Audio files that already have BPM value are skipped.

Edit Info...

Select one ore more items from the library list and edit song information. The information is only stored internally within the Disco XT music library file, the actual audio files are not modified. Alternative way is to select 'Edit Fields' by right-clicking a song.

Create Current Playlist to iTunes

Mac OS X only:
Creates a copy of the currently selected playlist to the iTunes application.

Current Playlist/Folder Copy Files as Aliases...

Copies all files of the currently selected playlist/folder to a folder on disk. Just a file copy: order of the files on the playlist is maintained (track numbers are added to the file names) but start times/cue points,transitions etc are not applied. There are 'Export Audio' and 'Record' functions for that purpose.

This version is faster, it creates file aliases (links) instead of duplicating the files. (Mac OS X only).

Current Playlist/Folder Copy Files...

Same as the previous, but copies the files instead of creating links/aliases.

Export Play Log as Text...

Creates an informative text file in the format: Artist - title - Date Time. from the content of the Play log.

Clear Play Log

Clears all songs from the playlog lists.

Clear Last Play Dates

Resets 'Last Played' dates of songs. 'Last Play' column is available for song lists in Edit menu > Columns.

Print Keyboard Controls...

Print list of current keyboard controls (names, keys). First shows page setup dialog then a print dialog.

Check for New Files...

Checks one or more folders for audio files that are not already in the library. This is quicker than going selecting multiple folders again in the 'Add to Library' window.

Check for Missing Files...

Checks for missing files in the library: If a file has been moved after adding to Disco XT, the file path in Disco XT points to a non-existing file.

Files can be relocated by clicking 'Relocate' and then selecting a new location for one or more of the missing folders. You can select to replace one of the folders (such as your main music folder 'my mp3s' or similar) and then click 'OK' and if files are still missing, click 'Relocate' again.





On Mac OS X, when using iTunes option, missing files from iTunes can be relocated by clicking 'Auto Relocate'.

Add From Playlist to Library If Not There

Songs added to playlists need to be stored in the library as well. The library contains the song information (such as artist, album, genre) while the playlists contains links to the items in the library. If a song is removed from the library but is kept on a playlist, after exitting and relaunching Disco XT, the information will be missing from the playlist, showing only file names. Select this option then to add the songs from the playlists to the library and to update the song informmation.

Save Settings

Saves playlists, preferences and other user data of Disco XT immediately. Optional safety option, as settings are also saved automatically when you close Disco XT.

Other commands:

Show Settings Folder
Reveals location of Disco XT userdata/settings folder. All playlists, list of imported songs and settings are stored in this folder.

Rebuild Disk View Playlist
Usually not needed: Recreates disk view playlist. Disk view shows all files in the library organized to folders same way as the files are organized on disk. Disk view can be shown by clicking triangle of 'Library' to show it's sub items. Disk view might be disabled, if it is not shown it can be enabled in Edit menu > preferences > misc.

Import Playlists...

Import previously exported playlists, supports only Disco XT playlist format.

Export Playlists...

Exports playlists of Disco XT. Playlists can be later imported back to Disco XT.
This is an optional way to move playlists between different computers etc..(copying the settings folder instead of 'export playlists' is another option).

Opens an export window...
Drag items from the list on left side to the list on the right side. Folders and playlists within folders are both shown, if you add a folder, all playlists within that folder are included in the export file.



Read Artwork...

Reads artwork images attached to audio files to Disco XT cache file. After importing new files, select this to load artwork from the new files.

Select 'List Artwork Browser' from 'View' menu to browse the artworks.

Read Artwork (Clean)...

Same as previous, but the entire artwork cache is cleared: If an audio file did not have artwork previously attached but now has, it is reread.